Skip navigation

The outline I wrote about back in June has quite a few story holes that I didn’t notice until I starting getting the thing turned into screenplay format. So I’ve got to come up with a few scenes that plug up those holes. And speaking of screenplay format, I’m up to about 20 pages. I know a lot of people write scenes out of order, but I just can’t figure out how do that. I write linearly, what can I say? Not that I don’t have any idea about what’s going to happen later on in the movie. I do. But I need to figure out how to get there before I flesh those parts out further. I’m into the second act, where all good screenplays go to die. The long pauses between times when I get any actual work done allow me the luxury of reading with fresh eyes. A lot of it is crap. Some of it is ok. And it’s still got a freaking long way to go. I still think the idea is really compelling. I just need to write more so that I get good at doing it. There are no excuses there. Well, there are, but none of them that mean anything.

I decided that once I’m done writing, I’m just going to try and make the thing myself. Forget about selling. In this day and age, trying to do that will get you about as much attention as a rhino gives to a fly. He might notice the fly. Probably not. And if he does, he certainly doesn’t care. If Hollywood isn’t going to make my move, I might as well. They might even want it when I’m done. Stranger things have happened. And if not, we’ll see if I can’t just try and sell in online on my own. It’s a brave new world with this interweb thing.

I discovered a website by a couple screenwriters that I like. Wordplayer has a whole bunch of screenwriting tips and other inspiration.

Leave a Reply

