Skip navigation

I used to think I wanted to be a civil engineer. It took one semester’s worth of college calculus to cure me of that. I did OK on the AP Calculus test in high school, but, well, that was high school. After a two-year stint living in Hungary, I decided that I wanted to be an architect, which seemed to be engineering related. Plus, Mike Brady did it.

But architecture school is rough. I won’t elaborate on the details, but I only made it through my junior year before I called it quits.

My next stop was computer animation. I’m a big Pixar fan, and seeing the huge lists of credits at the ends of their movies made me think, ‘Gee, that’s a lot of people. I bet I could be one of those people.’ After spending some amount of time familiarizing myself with Maya, I set out on a couple of ambitious projects that eventually ended up in the dustbin. It takes a lot of work to put together a 3D production on your own, and I really wasn’t impressing myself with what I’d accomplished. And then I stumbled across this little post that blew my socks off. Apparently, I’ve got a better chance of making it in the NFL than being a professional film animator. It wasn’t just the numbers that set me off; I wasn’t prepared to train for the NFL.

By now, I’m sure you’re saying, ‘This dude is one lazy turd.’ You may be right. My view of it, is that none of those things tickled my fancy in just the right place. They sure played around the endges of it, but I’m not planning on spending my life in a job I can tolerate. It’s going to be something that gets me out of bed before the alarm goes off.

Besides, I learned a lot about myself in trying out different disciplines. I learned that I didn’t want to do that much more math. I learned that I like design. I learned that a lot of architects are arrogant buggers. I learned that animation is freaking hard. And I learned that I like to tell stories.

Yes stories. Telling them. Like your grandpa. Only cooler. He doesn’t have a MiniDV camera.

In the midst of studying animation, I took a beginning filmmaking class, and I learned that I get a little bit of a kick out of telling stories. Nothing I made in that class is all that special. It was the lesson that as long as you told a compelling enough story, people will hang around. So, that’s what I’m going to try to do.

I’m writing a screenplay. Actually a treatment, that I’ll turn into a screenplay. I’ve got about 5 pages done.

Yes. A screenplay. For a movie. Then I’m going shoot it. Then edit it. Then try to convince people to watch it. This blog is going to be the place for me to list my inspirations and my discouragements. Hopefully it can serve to document the process. Hopefully it’ll help to keep me motivated. If I’m successful, hopefully it can be an inspiration for others to do the same.

Hopefully it doesn’t end up in the dustbin.

Leave a Reply

